top of page
Muqaddas Fatima

What if we hadn't drifted apart?

Don’t we all wish that we hadn’t met that “one person” We wish we had the ability to un-meet someone or to erase all those memories from our mind and how a single thought about them can ruin your entire day. You could be passing by a soda shop you used to hang out at or maybe you overheard that song you once heard with them and all the feelings come rushing back to you, all the thoughts running through your mind … leaving you stunned, leaving you incapable to function for a while; physically and mentally. You feel a heavy burden on your chest and then comes a point when you just want for your mind to stop working, to stop overthinking but you just can’t help it. You often contemplate how your life would have been if you were still in touch with them.

I had such a person in my life too and when I think about it I couldn’t help but wonder what happened or what went wrong and then came the thought that “what if we hadn’t drifted apart?” What if we had added in a little more effort and maybe things had worked out for us. In my case, imagining a day without that one person felt as hard as breathing with no air, life felt meaningless and this recurring thought of maybe how things would have been better if I had tried one last time. How maybe we would have been at a much serious stage if I hadn’t let it end like that if I had tried one last time.

But at this point in my life, I realized how things happen for a reason, how you could be so obsessed with someone that you stop noticing the negative impact they have on your lifestyle and personality. People change, their priorities change and not everyone’s meant to be with you forever. I don’t think I would have been the strong and confident person I am right now “if we hadn’t drifted apart” I may never be able to fully forget about those times but I know for sure that I’m at much more peace than I have ever been. That this one experience gave me a much more practical and positive approach to life.

You should always remember no matter how much you miss someone or a particular situation, one day you will realize how it all happened for good and “If Allah takes something away from you he replaces it with something much better”


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page